THE PITY PARTY HAS BEEN CANCELLED!

I remember hearing the term ‘gratitude journal’ numerous times while watching Oprah when I was younger. She would suggest to her audience that everyone keep a journal where they should write at least five things a day that they were grateful for. At the time, I didn’t see the advantage of that, possibly because it was a time in my life where I was pretty involved in throwing pity parties. Perhaps you’ve heard of them. They were the types of parties where only miserable people were welcome to attend. My theme song at that time could have been ‘It’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to’. What I didn’t realize back then was that if I had listened to dear Oprah, the pity parties could have come to an earlier, joyous end.

One of the things that I am the most grateful for is the huge change in my attitude. Through great information, wonderful supportive friends and some personal growth, I can now have gratitude for so many amazing things in my life. I no longer have that jealousy at the happy people who have many blessings in their life. I can be happy for them and wish them the best, instead of wishing that I had the same. I no longer have to scowl at the rainy day in the summer, but instead be grateful that our plants are getting the water that they need. I’ve learned that being thankful for all of the good in life makes the bad things so much easier to face. I’ve learned that attitude makes such a difference, not only in my own life, but in the lives of those whom I come into contact with.

For even in the worst of times, there is always, ALWAYS, something that we can be grateful for. In the midst of our deepest pain, there is always at least one thing that we can think of that is positive. A dream, a memory, someone or something that brings us a moment of joy. And it is the focus on these positives that can make the darkness a bit easier to face. We can remember that even through the longest, darkest night, that morning will always come. For that, we can forever be thankful.

I’ve heard many times that if a room full of people were to each put their problems into a hat, and were asked to draw out someone else’s problem, that they would all most likely wish to have their own problem back. I truly believe the truth in that. For we never know the battles that people are facing. And there is always someone out there with issues worse than those in our own lives.

So, I hope that by writing this, I can save someone from delaying their own change in attitude and thinking. I hope that someone can now begin to wake up every morning and start their day with an attitude of thanks. To begin each day with a smile. With hope. With a new bounce in their step and a new light in their eyes. I urge everyone to try it for thirty days. Five things every day that you are grateful for. It may be difficult in the beginning, but take it from a formerly bitter woman….it is worth it!!!

Sending love, encouragement and huge thanks to all!!! God Bless!!

Tracey

Leave a Reply

